Women's Academic Leadership Workshop

The 2018 Women's Academic Leadership Workshop occurred on Friday, June 8 in the EJ Ball Courtroom at the University of Arkansas School of Law. We are planning to continue this event on a biennial basis. If you would like to be involved in planning, just send a note indicating your interest.

If you attended this year's event, we welcome your feedback.

Session videos are now available, and linked from the session titles below. There is also a YouTube playlist for your convenience.

2018 Event Schedule

Time Session (titles are linked to video recordings) Speakers/Panelists
 9:00 am Breakfast  
 9:20 am Welcome Suzanne McCray, University of Arkansas
Vice Provost for Enrollment and Director of the Office of Nationally Competitive Awards
 9:30 am Taking a Stand and Making a Difference Jane B. Gearhart, University of Arkansas
Community Volunteer
 9:50 am Women and the Demand for "Effortless Perfection" Laura Jacobs, University of Arkansas
Chief of Staff (panel moderator)

Jane Morris, Duke University
Executive Director of the Office of Undergraduate Scholars and Fellows

Elizabeth Vardaman, Baylor University
Associate Dean for Engaged Learning
10:15 am Women and Publishing Masie Cochran, Tin House Publishing
Editor (panel moderator)

Padma Viswanathan, University of Arkansas
Associate Professor (ENGL), Fiction

Toni Jensen, University of Arkansas
Assistant Professor (ENGL), Non-Fiction

Elizabeth DeMeo, University of Arkansas
Director of Development for The Arkansas International Literary Magazine
11:00 am Break  
11:10 am Women in Leadership Shaping Diversity and Inclusion Yvette Murphy-Erby, University of Arkansas
Vice Provost for Diversity and Inclusion (panel moderator)

Liz Alsina, Walton Family Foundation
Sr. Program Officer

Erin Hogue, Walmart Foundation
Senior Manager, Northwest Arkansas Giving Program

Margot Lemaster, Welcome NWA
11:50 am The Importance of Women in Community and Civic Leadership Carolyn Allen, University of Arkansas
Dean of University Libraries

Mary Tolar, Kansas State University
Director of the Staley School of Leadership Studies
12:15 pm Advocating for Future Women Leaders in Letters of Recommendation

Download this presentation (866MB Powerpoint)
Paula Warrick, American University
Senior Director of Merit Awards

Kate Mamiseishvili, University of Arkansas
Associate Dean of the College of Education and Health Professions
12:45 pm Lunch - Women as (Everyday) Leaders Stacy Leeds, University of Arkansas
Vice Chancellor for Economic Development
The Office of Nationally Competitive Awards would like to thank its cosponsors, the Chancellor's Commission on Women, the Department of English, and the Higher Education Program in the College of Education and Health Professions.